Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Building a boat

Building a boat 2 weeks 2 days ago #5420

• pingpong
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 1
Good afternoon gentlemen,
I apologies if this has been answered already and for any ignorance I may have on this subject matter. I have been a long time carpenter and have always dreamed of building a fiberglass/wood 40-50 ft power catamaran via stitch and glue (possible vacuum infused foam board). My question is being that I plan to build the boat by hand a set of computerized plans (I'm not asking anyone to do any work for me), possibly a template would be invaluable for manufacturing a male wood frame mold to work off of. I am very much in the infancy of the planning phase and want to collect as much info as I can. So my question is, are there any free catamaran plans in that size range that I can work off of. I have done a few searches but cannot find anything that suits my requirements. My goal is not to infringe upon anyone work I just want to be involved in as many phases of the design, planning and construction of my vessel as possible and learn as much as I can along the way.

Thank you for your time and any assistance you can lend.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Building a boat 2 weeks 17 hours ago #5426

• Icare
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 21
Welcome on board PingPong!

We had for long a large library of models made by users, but I don't know if it's available again... :unsure:

Did you use the forum's SEARCH tool? Maybe among our discussions you'll alight on a convenient model...

Building a boat 1 week 5 days ago #5431

• Andy
  • Fresh Boarder
I think you'll find the models under the download tab. Remember that if you find something you like but it is not quite the right size, you can scale the model using Delftship.

Andy

Building a boat 1 week 2 days ago #5437

• iosif
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 5
Hi PingPong and welcome aboard