Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Tutorial for bow stern / modelling

Tutorial for bow stern / modelling 3 weeks 2 days ago #5665

• Tim
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi All,

I am new to Delftship and have a few questions. I have used CAD a lot but have very little naval architecture / Delftship experience.

I am trying to build a model of a merchantman vessel built in 1781. I have lines plans of the vessel. The bow and stern geometries are very complex.

I have built a first-attempt model. I am happy(ish) with the central sections of the vessel but the bow and stern are a complete mess. Can I ask if there are any tutorials on modelling the bow/stern of historical vessels? A re there a series of tutorials that I have missed? Any advice would be warmly welcomed.

I also have a second query - the lines plans indicate the inside of the hull. For hydrostatic calculations I need the outside dimensions? Is there a way to add the plank thickness to the internal dimensions?

Thanks

Tim.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Tutorial for bow stern / modelling 3 weeks 2 days ago #5668

• Icare
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 28
Hi Tim, and welcome on board!

Bow and stern:
It isn't easy to explain the way to do. I suggest you look for an already made model that looks like yours, and to get inspired by it.
My way is to "close the box" first just by creating a more or less vertical surface between the bottom and the flank (I'll add the deck later). Then I divide this surface in polygons and "inflate" it. when I'm satisfied with the curves, I enter in details drawing.
Concerning the stern, sometimes with this kind f old ships, it's easier to draw it verticaly and then to tilt it slightly.

Hydrostatics:
The hydrostatics calculation must be based on the outside surface of the hull (the inner structures do not must enter in consideration).